Module 1: The Three Pillars of ASEAN



This Module traces the history of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). The organization started more than four decades ago. Its creation ensured more comprehensive and multually beneficial intergration among ASEAN countries. In pursuit of their objectives, the community created three major components, namely; the ASEAN Security Community, the ASEAN Economic Community, and  the ASEAN Social and Cultural Community. These achievements resulted in regional coherence and competitiveness when faced with the  new challenges unleashed by  globalization. In the next stage, the common market will increase labor mobility within ASEAN, especially in Singapore, Brunei, Malaysia and Thailand. Jobs functions are described providing work types and the related terms.